.

EVENT PREVIEW: Snoopy's Holiday Celebration

Charlie Brown, Snoopy and the rest of the Peanuts gang bring holiday cheer and a merry Christmas to residents of Long Beach this holiday season.

The Peanuts gang will throw a holiday celebration for Long Beach residents and families affected by Sandy.

For more stories like this or to post an event yourself, follow our Giving and Volunteering groups.

Three hundred families will receive one live mini tree to decorate and take home. Additional event elements will include a movie screening of popular Peanuts Christmas specials including, “A Charlie Brown Christmas, photo opps with the Peanuts characters and other family activities, including a  “Decoration Station” where kids can decorate tree ornaments and cookies. Light holiday refreshments and treats will be served.

The event will take place on Dec. 12 from 5 to 8 p.m. at the Long Beach Ice Arena.

Tonto Hertzberg December 11, 2012 at 03:02 PM
What holiday are they referring to? Enough with the Happy Holidays nonsense. This is the Christmas Season celebrating the birth of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Its a CHRISTIAN holy day. F**k Snoopy and his Godless crap.
Beachguy December 12, 2012 at 07:42 AM
Ken--would Jesus have reacted the way you have to such a generous gesture?
Anne Marie Dezio December 12, 2012 at 10:18 AM
Bah humbug to Mr Toller, I consider myself to be a good Christian with fond childhood memories of watching seasonal specials such as A Charlie Brown Christmas; Rudolf the Red Nose Reindeer ; & Frosty the Snowman. My children also grew up enjoying these stories which actually have positive messages of love, friendship, tolerance & perseverance. An event entitled "A Little Love for Long Beach" will undoubtedly provide some children & their families with the gift of joy during difficult times. Thank you seems a more appropriate response.
Tonto Hertzberg December 12, 2012 at 10:49 AM
Whatever happened to " Merry Christmas, Charlie Brown" ? You will NEVER see that one again. Instead it was replaced with some Godless crap designed to sell stuff. No mention of the Baby Jesus or any mention of what holiday is ACTUALLY being celebrated. I hope Charlie brown rots in hell for this.
Beachguy December 12, 2012 at 02:53 PM
you are in need of help Ken. The debate over separation of church and state is a valid and ongoing one but you spew out hate and intolerance. A most unchristian man you seem to be.
Jack December 12, 2012 at 09:26 PM
This increasing secularzation of the USA is disturbing. We have a religious Christian perspective in the founding of our country but progressive liberal hippies have been waging a war against the American culture since the 1960's. Hopefully when these aging hippies finally get admitted to nursing homes their vile ideas will disappear and the country turns back around.
Beachguy December 12, 2012 at 10:16 PM
The founding fathers rightfully provided for the separation of church and state. One only need read the sad history of religious persecution to understand why. In fact just take a look at the dangers of mixing government and religion in the current situation in Egypt and some other Muslim countries. Read theSupreme Court decisions on the issue to understand it. People here are free to worship as they like. There are few other countries that come close to the freedoms we enjoy.
David Prophet December 12, 2012 at 11:25 PM
Ken and to a lesser extent, Jeff...I have a secret to share with both of you. This event, which I attended with my friend and her 6 year old daughter who are both living with me until their home is livable again was.....get ready guys, because it's a shocker.....about the children. Now I know this is probably blowing your minds right now because hey, it's a very radical, deep and extraordinarily complex concept....and I understand how you may have missed the obviously abstract connection between Charlie Brown, Snoopy, decorating cookies and children, but trust me, it was indeed about the children. Now, I do truly hope this revelation didn't cause either of you to have a massive seizure, but maybe, just maybe this will be epiphany enough for both of you to uh, ya know, grow up just a tad. Just a little bit...and maybe, dare I dream it, to find a little positivity in your lives because when you start complaining about The Peanuts coming to Long Beach to put some smiles on the faces of children who have suffered greatly these past 5 weeks or so, you really should take that as a sign you need some help. Geesh!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something