.

Letter to Editor: Obama's Sensitivity To 'Muslim Community' is Anti-American

Long Beach man is offended by the president's decisions on bin Laden's burial and photos.

Letter to the Editor:

Can you believe what is happening to our country? Airport security that depends on bare feet; soft porn x-rays machines and sexual assaults called pat-downs; a federal budget that says borrowing gets you out of debt; a health care bill “deemed” to have passed in the dark of night with the help of bribes and bullying. Nothing is making sense anymore!

And now there is Osama Bin Laden.

After nearly 10 years, millions of dollars and thousands of young lives spent avenging 9/11, we finally find and waste the bastard responsible for pulling it off and what does the CEO of the United States do? He directs that the body be treated with respect! Wash it, wrap it and give it a proper Muslim funeral? This corpse belonged to one of the worst enemies of US history! Is he crazy?

As if that is not enough, he then instructs us peasants to swallow the bromide that this is for our own good because, after all, we don’t want to offend the “Muslim community,” and so incite them to further violence. I he kidding? When all who hijacked those airliners were Muslim? When all who were dancing in the streets in Paterson, NJ, the day those towers came down were Muslim? When the world right now is wracked with at least 13 wars involving Muslims? He wants us to be sensitized to Muslim sensitivities?

And now for the latest slap in our collective face: Our dear leader has decided in his infinite paternalistic wisdom to withhold pictures of the deceased for fear that they are just too gruesome for us “children,” and once again out of respect for the sensitivities of that Muslim community. What an insult to those who killed Osama bin Laden and to America!

As I have reluctantly come to realize, the man this country elected to its presidency is not a bona fide American, but at heart is a Muslim Marxist devoted to the “fundamental transformation of America,” just as he promised when speaking as a presidential candidate.

The only problem is that it’s not just un-American, but anti-American. 2012 cannot come soon enough.

Robert Freidank
Tea Party Patriot
Long Beach

perfectcircles May 09, 2011 at 01:33 PM
What in the world would possess the patch to publish such an ignorant letter? Can we publish one accusing George Bush of planning 9-11 next?
Joseph Kellard (Editor) May 09, 2011 at 01:58 PM
I'm not sure I understand your line of reasoning. As written, you make it sound as if the letter-writer accused President Obama of having played a hand in 9/11, or something on that scale.
Neilan Stern May 09, 2011 at 03:27 PM
To show respect for a body, even after the spirit of the person has departed, indicates that we, (or at least some of us), still abide by a code of ethics that demands that we should never lower ourselves to the level of those whose creed suggests that one should kill others with impunity - whether they be men, women, or children. The fact the writer who lambasted our President identifies himself as a member of the so called "tea party", gives us an insight to the machinations of what he mistakenly believes is a normal mind. How sad!
Tom May 09, 2011 at 04:54 PM
You have to be kidding with this letter to the editor. As I told my daughters friend who is studying poli sci in college...In my experience many conservatives, of which the Tea Party seems to hold as a mantra, are racists. If this operation had been done by GWB you'd be praising him and stating what a decent human being he is for treating the body morally. Should we treat Christian fanatical the way you suggest we treat the hideous person? Many thought the Tea Party would become a third political option. All I see is that its a bunch of racist extremist trying to bully everyone else. A sad state of affairs you are correct.
Thomas T May 09, 2011 at 05:33 PM
While free speech is paramount to all of our freedoms, all this letter proves is that Americans are free to make laughingstocks of themselves in the public square. The ill-informed, fact-deficient, racist Tea Party hysteria deserves as much of a forum as measured, rational political discourse which affords decent people of differing opinions a chance to persuade and enlighten. After all - sunlight is the best disinfectant.
Eddie May 09, 2011 at 05:41 PM
Racists come in all parties, ages and colors. Unfortunately, any group is easily tainted by a handful with big stupid mouths. As a liberal, Tom should be very aware of the damage a small minority has done to his cause. Dig a little deeper before developing all-encompassing opinions. Tom, peer a bit further than MSNBC or Newsday. As hard as it may be to believe, you may be surprised that those doing the labeling may actually be trying to trick you.
Joseph Kellard (Editor) May 09, 2011 at 05:50 PM
Why do you raise the isse of race?
Tom May 09, 2011 at 05:52 PM
Eddie If you're referring to this Tom since two posted, thanks for the good chuckle. You don't know my political beliefs so labeling me a liberal is comical, I'm not. I don't watch MSNBC and read the Post sans some of their political bent. Even the Post felt not showing the pic was appropriate. My opinion is formed from the behaviors such as this letter to the editor. Additionally it's been formed from acitons such as self proclaimed conservative/Tea Party Patriot tells me "we need to get the blacks off welfare." Before you speaking you should know what you're speaking.
Thomas T May 09, 2011 at 05:54 PM
Well, Eddie, there is this: Tea Party Express leader Mark Williams referred to Allah as a "Monkey God". Williams' comments elicited strong rebukes from New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, New York State Senators and Muslim leaders. In a subsequent blog posting, Williams wrote, "I owe an apology to millions of Hindus who worship Lord Hanuman, an actual Monkey God. When questioned by The Washington Post about his comments about Islam and Obama, Williams has claimed the controversy has "been fantastic for the movement." Williams came under further criticism in mid-July when he posted a fictional letter named "Colored People" on his blog. Williams claimed the letter was a "satirical" response to a resolution passed by the NAACP calling on Tea Party leaders to "'repudiate the racist element and activities' from within the movement".***** And this: While at a Tea Party event on February 27, 2009, a photo was taken of TeaParty.org founder and president Dale Robertson with a sign that said "Congress = Slaveowner, Taxpayer = Niggar. ***** And this: According to the Dayton Daily News, on March 21, 2010, Springboro (Ohio) Tea Party founder Sonny Thomas tweeted a racial slur on the Twitter Page he managed, directed specifically at the Hispanic community that stated "Illegals everywhere today! So many spics makes me feel like a speck. Grrr. Wheres my gun!?"***** It is therefore reasonable to conclude that the Tea Party has a racism problem.
Tom May 09, 2011 at 05:55 PM
I meant to include that I do agree that racists come in all sizes, parties, etc. However in my experience I found the hard right seems to hold more of them.
Eddie May 09, 2011 at 05:56 PM
No attack intended Tom, but labeling "Tea Partiers" with such a broad brush doesn't illustrate a brain trust. You formed an opinion based on what one guy told you? Come on Dude. You didn't really mean to say that did you?
Thomas T May 09, 2011 at 06:04 PM
Eddie - there is also this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S38VioxnBaI Trying to pretend that this is an organization of rational intellectuals dedicated to tax reform is a bit like saying a rabid ferret is a cuddly kitty cat. Notice the rampant spelling errors, overt racism, and gleeful ignorance of the sign holders.
Eddie May 09, 2011 at 08:32 PM
I'm not defending the group, but you have no idea who these people are or even if they represent the Tea Party movement. Remember that Bill Ayers was a Democrat. He was also the head of the terrorist group the Weather Underground. Rev. Jeremiah Wright's anti-White and anti-American sermons are legend. He, too is a Democrat. How about Bernadine Dohrn? Another Democrat, who happened to have bombed government buildings and killed police officers. Fringe Democrats, you might say? Each of these are close personal friends of Barack Hussein Obama Jr. "Mentors," he called them. Does that make all Democrats terrorists? Really now, I can pick out genuine card carrying kooks in any group without trying very hard.
Thomas T May 09, 2011 at 09:43 PM
Eddie, really. If you read the materials available, the leadership of the Tea Party is a pretty fair indicator of the racist tendencies of the group, and suggesting that they people pictured and quoted are somehow outliers is fairly... odd. As to the Democrats mentioned in your post... your use of the President's middle name in this context tells us all we need to know. You don't really find the DNC populated with people who are anti-white, anti-American, and advocating domestic terrorism. Every TP rally is loaded with people like the kooks in the YouTube link I posted. But ok. Your general premise that kooks are everywhere is valid. But the right-wing fringe elements in American society can generally be said to be racist, uneducated, angry people who are hyperreligious and love guns, and hate paying taxes. Should they have a voice? Absolutely. Most of prefer angry violent people of any political leaning to show themselves so we can avoid them. And certainly we don't want to vote for them.
Eddie May 09, 2011 at 10:30 PM
You stated: "right-wing fringe elements in American society can generally be said to be racist, uneducated, angry people who are hyperreligious and love guns, and hate paying taxes." The majority of voters in this country are overwhelming Republicans. By your rationale, the majority of Americans are racist, uneducated, angry people who are hyperreligious and love guns. Oh yes, the majority of Americans own firearms too.
Thomas T May 09, 2011 at 10:52 PM
Eddie, you are wrong in many places here. The Republican party allowed its public persona to be represented by the far right in 2004, which proved disastrous. Obviously, the majority of voters in this country are overwhelming(ly) moderate Republicans AND Democrats, not right wing fringe elements. Otherwise, Obama would never have been elected. My rationale is NOT that the majority of Americans are right wing fringe kooks... otherwise they wouldn't be a fringe element by definition. (As to gun ownership, the American Firearms Institute estimates about 40% - 45% of Americans own guns, which is not a majority. Also, that statistic is based on population / production, and does not include the "Nut Factor" - households with a gun collector in them. And the more guns people have in a region, the higher the gun-related homicide rate. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1447364/ So, gun nuts, be they right wing or left, should probably be put in check.)
Eddie May 09, 2011 at 11:22 PM
Without debating gun ownership, the Second Amendment, or Obama's middle name, I'd like to call attention, once again to your statement: "right-wing fringe elements in American society can generally be said to be racist, uneducated, angry people who are hyperreligious and love guns, and hate paying taxes." Now honestly -- and I want you to be honest here -- do you really think that a statement like that makes you appear educated, unbiased, and intelligent? I can certainly make up a whole lot of generalizations about liberals. I'd be really good at that -- but I've learned that those who recklessly generalize usually lose all credibility. Once they expose their bigotry, nobody listens to them.
Thomas T May 09, 2011 at 11:37 PM
Eddie, my statement about right wing fringe elements - such as the Tea Party, is based on publicly available information. Much of it comes from their own materials. Reading and researching those is education. I was unbiased before, but upon reading and hearing what they had to say, I decided I did not like either it or them. That is not an UNINFORMED bias, it's an opinion based on information. As to intelligence, well, let's just say I'll never find the cure for cancer. But you won't find me trotting about screaming racist jingoism with a misspelled sign calling those who oppose my political leanings "Secrete Muslins". The right wing isn't exactly recruiting from Mensa. http://www.alternet.org/news/150788/5_toxic_right-wing_lies_obama_must_strike_down_from_his_%27bully_pulpit%27
Tom May 10, 2011 at 02:41 PM
I'm confused you generalized me as a liberal, but here you say you don't do that - which is it?
Mr Dunes May 11, 2011 at 03:58 AM
There are smarter WWE Referees than there are Tea Partiers. I can make general statements too. There are more WWE Referees who are smarter than all of the Tea Partiers. I can make statistics up too. Though I feel as though, unlike some others in this discussion, I can assert and differentiate statistics away from General statements right here.
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 01:50 PM
If you really belive that fanatical Muslim terrorists are not retaliating because the way POTUS sensitively handled the corpse orAssasination of OBL your thinking is misguided at best & farsicle at worst. Reality check for all AMERICANS.... These SOB want to kill all Kafiirs (infidels) thats you as well Mr. Dunes. Islam could care less if you are a lover rather then a fighter!!! Does not matter to them who is in charge.... Wake up, they are here in USA & will come after us all REGARDLESS of how much we pander to them....
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 01:55 PM
I'm with you......Political Correctness is killing America
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 02:03 PM
Mr Dunes, Couple of things here, 1) Fact is there have been attacks on USA since 9/11... Major Nadal Hassan? memba him.. 2) Other attempted attacks have been thwarted by intel etc... Please have your facts in order if you care to post or you will be called on your inaccurasies..3) To equate conservatism with radical fundamentalism is way deep in the poop in your head... FYI Chicago to NY rent a car 10 12 hrs driving rather than sitting on my ass 4 days... Just sayin
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 02:08 PM
Seems the only haters here are the ones alleging the tea party members are this & that... Pitiful Liberal accusations.. Thats really all you have. Fact is last Nov. was a drubbing as POTUS said.
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 02:09 PM
Proof of racisim in Tea Party plzzzz!!!
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 02:13 PM
Gun collector = Nut factor??? Nuff said Thomass T.
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 02:15 PM
Seems the faculty lounge liberal elites are loosing their cool Mr. Dunes. Have a cookie smile , the Muslims will kill you unarmed elites first ya know.
Thomas T May 12, 2011 at 02:16 PM
Uh oh Ivan the Tea party is a bunch of bigots: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tea_Party_movement#Controversies
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 02:29 PM
oh look oh look, I READ IT ON THE INTERNET IT MUST BE TRUE!!! Since when does controversy mean its a fact? Does you know reading comprehension. Geezzz get a grip already.
Ivan Bexter May 12, 2011 at 02:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEXWjlgJ83E See I saw it on the web... Oh but wait there"s more.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxklsBVub-s&feature=related

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something