.

NY Rising

What's the staus on the NY Rising grants? Anyone get anything yet?
Eddie February 18, 2014 at 11:19 AM
Taxes have gone up for a lot of difference reason. Mine have not gone up 54% in the past 20 years so your number are so off that you must be making them up - or you were getting over and got caught.
Eddie February 18, 2014 at 11:43 AM
@ me - you said you were lucky and I am happy for you. I was as well. Blaming victims because they may not be as 'Lucky" is what I call a really low blow. Not that I expected anything less from the people that post here. It doesn't take away from my post - this is not the place for accurate information. Your long winded explanation is just proof, everyones situation is different. When you reads these posts you should understand they may or may not be nothing but personal experiences.
Me February 18, 2014 at 01:48 PM
EDDIE with the avatar- I don't see anybody in this thread blaming victims. I agree this is not the place for definitive answers and a collection of nothing more than another person’s experiences and opinions with the occasional link to sources for information. But, a question was asked and I tried to answer it as best I could. I will agree there is an element of luck to navigating the post Sandy insurance/relief world. My point is people shouldn't give up and they should follow through every little bit helps. If anybody is to blame it is clearly the system and it is inexcusable in my opinion how they were hyping the SBA loan as a key to any future aid when in fact it ended up biting so many in the a$$. Here is an excerpt from a 12/07/2012 FEMA press release; “SBA is our partner in disaster recovery. If you received an application from the SBA, whether you are a business, homeowner or renter, you need to return the application.” said Michael F. Byrne, coordinating officer for the federal recovery operations in the affected area. “Filling out the application is a necessary step to being considered for other forms of assistance.” You can get the whole thing here: http://www.longbeachny.gov/index.asp?Type=B_PR&SEC={33BD7D65-42BC-45CB-ABAB-A6E2B4FB1BFB}&DE={4DC81512-47D7-4883-B455-B136C0D60429}. From the City of LB Website. FEMA outright lied to people encouraging them to take these loans saying future aid was dependent upon applying then having HUD tell them no sorry you got SBA loan and saddled yourself with extra debt so we can’t help you by giving you a grant.
Eddie February 18, 2014 at 04:44 PM
@ me - this is very old news for most people who are living this nightmare. Yes they lied and it sucks! Maybe you should go back and read what you wrote. It did sound a lot like gloating and blaming. No matter. I wish everyone well and I hope you all get what you need.
Eddie February 18, 2014 at 05:03 PM
This douche-bag even copied my avatar,\, and he doesn't even know who that is.
jim February 18, 2014 at 06:36 PM
kids kids kids you want a time out
Me February 18, 2014 at 06:51 PM
Eddie-- Read it and don't see any gloating. Trying to answer a question and encourage people to keep at it and get as much help as they can.
Eddie February 18, 2014 at 09:36 PM
@me - ok - just want to make sure everyone knows this is not the place for good info. To many people post things as facts when they are just opinions. Scary most of them don't know the difference.
Eddie February 18, 2014 at 09:46 PM
Ok Eddie I guess you want to play again. Tell me Eddie how did you get 54% increase in taxes. Was that since the 1800's. Or are you just pissed of they caught you? Facts and opinions. 54 % increase in taxes - neither fact nor opinion - just a fucking outright lie. Don't use my statements to promote your bull shit old man. Like I said your mama lied you ain't all that special.
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 07:18 AM
If you live in Mom's house, look at her City Property Tax bill since the Democrats have been elected. Most people pay taxes through their mortgage escrow account, so this may be hard for you to do. Oh yes, and include the Democrats "penalty charge" for having elected Republicans last time. That's on a separate line.
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 07:37 AM
Not hard for me at all. LMAO. 20 years I've been here 10% increase, adjust for inflation -not bad at all. "penalty charge" was because of the Republicans before - old news, old argument, not going rehash it. Beside penalty charge was less the 1% so again where is your over 50%? Now it may be because you still think $1. today is the same as $1. in 1850. It's not. You need to compare the present value of that $1. I understand that concept may be difficult for you. So I'll put it to you this way; if you had children when you were a young man - compare the cost of their diapers to the cost of the ones you buy for yourself now.
larry teague February 19, 2014 at 10:21 AM
well the tax increases. so the dems gave us a 25% increase around 2007? (approx.). and the dems have given us another 16% over the last three years. so far that's 41%. and lets see, the repubs gave us 4% and 2% over the sofield/hennessy years. that gets me to 47%. I may be missing another 75 somewhere, but in my estimation, that is pretty close to 54%. at some point taxes actually got lowered, but it was negligible. still, over 40% in less than 10 years is crazy
larry teague February 19, 2014 at 10:23 AM
oh yessssss. lets not forget the dem increases in water bills, mercantile licenses, recreation fees, work permits and beach passes. these are fees and cant be deducted. and lets also remind all about the repubs non stop increases in our water bills. every dollar counts!!
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 11:48 AM
Yes, and the Dems promised that the 16% would be each year for the three years. Along with the "you voted Republican" $250 penalty fee.
Hamburger February 19, 2014 at 01:47 PM
If only the previous republican admin had not burned through the rainy day fund and kicked the can down the road
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 02:38 PM
The "rainy day fund" was $3 million. Since the Democrats were elected, they have put us in debt for $115 million.
Hamburger February 19, 2014 at 03:01 PM
Is that all from hiring their friends?
larry teague February 19, 2014 at 03:48 PM
look, i'm not pro dem or pro repub. you get the hand you are dealt and then you play it. either you fix things and make them better or you try to re-invent the wheel and make things worse. so we kicked out a bunch of clowns and replaced them with even more inept clowns. what the average resident doesn't realize is that the damage will be felt in a year or two from now. even the head financial guy is bolting because he knows they are out of their depth here. people will be willing to pay high taxes in return for quality of life (none), and schools (do we even have to address that?). there are no real services in this town, save for three months during the summer. would you be willing to pay $15-20K per year in taxes for the worst schools other than Roosevelt? (wasn't that Torres' school district?) I think we can see clearly
Sam February 19, 2014 at 04:51 PM
Why not have the ny rising grant go directly to your sba loan to pay it forward down or off completely. they were the first to show up offering funds and then you get screwed for taking the loan. I should have stood out front of my house crying and setting up online fund raisers.
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 07:31 PM
Other Eddie. Again not sure where you are getting these numbers. My taxes have not gone up that much in 20 years I've owned my home. Maybe you have some adjustments made. I am aware of the 3 million find that went to buy all kinds of toys for the republicans to play with. as far as 115 million in debt - could someone else confirm that number?
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 07:34 PM
Sam that would make to much sense. The govt could never make anything that simple. Not to late maybe this summer we should set stands on the boardwalk with families with pictures of their homes and cans in the hands for change. It may be the only way.
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 07:36 PM
Hamburger you are making him hungry. Please change your name.
Eddie February 19, 2014 at 07:45 PM
@ Larry the real problem is you have the same people without any experience running and getting elected doesn't matter which party. The politics is this town has made for great jokes everywhere else. Remember all the dead people that used to vote. I was in Albany and it was bought up.
Hamburger February 19, 2014 at 08:50 PM
Hurricane Eddie!
moe February 20, 2014 at 01:29 AM
Now this "fake Eddie" (eddie-davis...) is pretending this is her real name. As soon as real Eddie (eddie-13) mentioned she took his avatar, she ditched it. Very sad. She's actually trying to write coherently now, too bad she doesn't post under her own screen name. Too bad she curses so much as above. She'll probably delete that, so I put up a screen shot of the vulgar anti-Eddie post at the link below, in "Speak Out." Too bad she wastes so much space all over Patch. You know she stole this "moe" name so I only use it to post about fake posts. Anything else is "fake moe." http://longbeach.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/fake-eddie-notches-it-up
Eddie February 23, 2014 at 08:04 PM
Hey Moe Eddie -13 is someone else. I bet it's you. Did you save all those screen shots because your whole life is about this site. LMAO. Things happen to poor Eddie because he deserves it. Moe you're next. Watch your back. LMAO
Eddie February 23, 2014 at 08:09 PM
Hi Moe - it's me again. Kiss my ass you fat loser.
Eddie February 23, 2014 at 08:12 PM
Hi Moe guess what I talked to your landlord. I told him what you did. Guess you will be moving again. Maybe other Eddie has an apartment for you.
Eddie February 23, 2014 at 08:19 PM
Update hurricane Eddie attacks losers on Long beach Patch. Forces Hamburger to charge name. Forces moe into hiding. Forces Eddie to face the fact he is not as special as mommy told him he was.
Eddie February 23, 2014 at 09:30 PM
Moe just can't leave me alone. I told him it's over but he keeps trying to get my attention this way. I told you moe I went back to my wife. She promised to have sex with me once a year as long as the lights are out. You just don't give good head. Sorry.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »